IMF Establishes FinTech Task Force to Study How Technology Is Changing Finance

IMF Establishes FinTech Task Force to Study How Technology Is Changing Finance

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) today announced the establishment of its new High Level Advisory Group on FinTech. The fintech task force is made up of “highly experienced and respected leaders in the field of finance and technology and includes industry pioneers, regulators, lawyers, and academics,” according to the Washington-based organization.

“We are grateful that such distinguished figures in the field of finance and technology have agreed to serve in the group, and look forward to their expert advice and views,” said Christine Lagarde, managing director of the IMF. “We are confident that this exchange will greatly enrich the scope and quality of the IMF’s work in this area.”

The IMF says that this new working group will be collaborating closely alongside the organization’s existing Interdepartmental Working Group on Finance and Technology. Together, they will study the many economic and regulatory implications of the technological developments that are changing the world of finance and provide recommendations about what the future holds.


The members of the IMF’s new High Level Advisory Group are:

  • Jeremy Allaire, Chief Executive Officer of Circle
  • Dr. Long Chen, Chief Strategy Officer of Ant Financial Services
  • Santiago Fernandez de Lis, Chief Economist of Financial Systems and Regulation at BBVA
  • Robert Garrison, Managing Director and Chief Information Officer at the DTCC
  • Chris Larsen, Executive Chairman of Ripple
  • Adam Ludwin, Chief Executive Office of Chain
  • Blythe Masters, Chief Executive Officer of Digital Asset
  • Greg Medcraft, Chairman of Australian Securities and Investments Commission
  • Professor Robert Merton, MIT Sloan
  • Patrick Murck, Fellow at the Harvard Berkman Klein Center
  • Marco Santori, Partner at Cooley LLP
  • Alex Tapscott, Chief Executive Officer of Northwest Passage Ventures
  • Carolyn Wilkins, Senior Deputy Governor at the Bank of Canada,
  • Bradley J. Wiskirchen, Chief Executive Officer of Kount

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: